GOLF, Ill. (Oct. 15, 2019) – The Grove Country Club in Long Grove, Illinois, will host the 94th Women’s Western Junior Championship in 2020, the Women’s Western Golf Association and Western Golf Association have announced.

The event is set for June 15-19, 2020, the first time that The Grove Country Club has hosted a WWGA championship.

The Women’s Western Junior features an outstanding field, and many competitors go on to become top amateur and college players. In 2020, for the second time, the WGA will conduct the event in partnership with the WWGA.

“We’re elated to have The Grove as our host for the Women’s Western Junior,” said Vince Pellegrino, WGA senior vice president of tournaments. “This championship attracts some of the top junior golfers in the country, and the course layout will provide a worthy challenge.”

The Women’s Western Junior field will be comprised of 78 top-ranked amateurs up to 18 years old with a handicap index of 14.4 or lower. Practice rounds are set for Monday, June 15. The competition will open with 36 holes of stroke play June 16-17 to establish 16 match play qualifiers. Match play set for June 18-19.

"Each year, the girls who compete in the Women’s Western Junior represent golf’s best and brightest rising talent,” said Jackie Wacker, Women’s Western Junior chairman. “Our 2020 field is sure to be no exception.”

Built in 1964, The Grove Country Club was designed by renowned golf course architect Robert B. Harris. At 7,000 yards, the par 72 layout offers plenty of room, but accuracy is still needed to maneuver past more than 60 bunkers strategically placed throughout. Water hazards also come into play on more than a few holes.

“We’re looking forward to hosting the Women’s Western Junior,” said Fred Reeder, Director of golf at The Grove. “We’re excited to be hosting a national event with so much history. It’s going to be a great week of competition.”

Gabrielle Gilrowski, of Westfield, Indiana, won the 2019 Women’s Western Junior at Woodland Country Club in Carmel, Indiana. Notable past champions include Cristie Kerr (1994), Grace Park (1993) and Nancy Lopez (1972-74).